Let’s face it, I could wax lyrical about how wonderful I think I am but ultimately it’s what my clients think that really counts, isn’t it? Here’s what Dogfather clients have to say. You can see more on LinkedIn (See ‘Full Profile’)

Having adopted two very lively dogs, a 3 year old flat coated retriever and her son an 11 month cross. My arms were being pulled out of their sockets and lead untangling skills were being sorely tested. My wife’s fabulous garden was resembling a battleground and the wildlife pond had become the dog pond. In addition the bird of prey I have for work (although safe in an aviary) was having a nervous breakdown with the dogs sneaking up and getting excited.

Then along comes Graeme, and within 4 hours we had calm and obedience. The results border on amazing and are so simple to use and enforce. I took both dogs out on a 2 mile walk 3 hours after Graeme had left us and it was a delight. No pulling, just fun. We still accept that there is work to do but now my wife and I have the techniques and confidence to think like a dog and enjoy them for what they are, two great pals.

Better than any other dog training I have had with previously owned dogs. Would highly recommend the investment.

Thank you Graeme

Jonathon Bailey Whittlebury Northamptonshire July 4, 2018

It’s taken me almost 10 months to post my review since Graeme visited my home. (sorry Graeme) I have had a multitude of things to deal with, in retraining my dog Murphy from complex behavioural and anxiety issues to basic stuff too. The basic things were like retraining him on the lead which to be honest Graeme fixed in an instant and it’s never gone backwards since and he helped to stop him barking at the postman etc. I was amazed!! He thought me very simple techniques for lead walking and recall which was fixed very quickly indeed.

After a really detailed discussion regarding Murphy’s life experiences and medical history of 6 years, (as I had him since he was a puppy) we soon got down to the serious business of educating me and then the dog, in that exact order. As soon as he took Murphy under his wing, he was like a very different dog. Murphy soon realised who was in charge – and that is the key word here. He didn’t use an aggressive approach, just firm words and body language. He thought me many things relating to Murphy’s body language and about modifying his behaviour. During this session I learnt about how crucial key timings are i.e. taking leadership and knowing when to reward for good behaviour and when to ignore for bad behaviour because my dog WAS a bit (a lot) of an attention seeker. He tried to interrupt many a discussion that Graeme and I were having! Since his visit, I have learned how to communicate better and more effectively with my dog and I am seeing the results to this day. He truly does know who is in charge now and we are reaping the benefits.

Graeme has since been on the end of the phone when I needed extra help or advice.

I would strongly recommend The Dogfather to anyone and I actually have passed on his contact details to friends and family since.

Thank you once again to Graeme and his office staff for all their guidance and support.

Linda & Murphy

Linda Riddy Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire May 31, 2018

Graeme came to us just over a year ago to work with our nervous dog Cookie. She had never liked being too close to dogs out on a walk, and showed that by barking at them to keep them away. Graeme quickly taught us to walk her without the barking and pulling. We didn’t think she would be safe walking off the lead with other dogs present, despite us introducing two new puppies into the household. However, ou4 dogwalker started taking her out with ‘selected’ dogs and she has come on in leaps and bounds – see picture. Without Graeme starting this process off, we wouldn’t be in the situation we are in now. It even means that our youngest, Rocko, gets to go walkies with his brother Alfie!

Hilary Hill Rushden, Northamptonshire May 31, 2018

Our family have never owned a dog before and have taken the big step of buying a Miniature Schnauzer. The proviso of having a dog was that it would be well trained and be able to fit in with our family life. I then proceeded to read every book on puppy training that has ever been written and frankly ended up very confused. This is where the idea of Graeme came in! He spent 3 hours with us all today and has given us the tools to help bring up a well mannered dog. The books seem to miss the whole psychology bit of training which having spent time with Graeme seems to be the crux of the whole thing. I would highly recommend hiring Graeme before embarking on the bringing up of a puppy.

Diane Northampton April 16, 2018

Dogfather Review Bolognese and Cocker Spaniel Dogs

Review: Prior to Graeme’s visit we had 4 very badly behaved Bolognese dogs. We cannot believe the transformation in such a short space of time. ( 2 days ) . Amazing is the word that comes to mind. We would recommend Graeme to everyone having problems with their pets. We would just like to say a very big thank you to Graeme for the amazing work he does.

And as we have a doggy friendly guest house his visit here will be a great help

 

7 days on, here’s a little update: All dogs are improving wonderfully. Franco still trying to pull on the lead, but once we get the correct collar we will notice the difference.

I have just taken all 5 dogs out down town and back by myself – Amazing.!!!!!!!

Maureen & Mike Drummond Oban. Argyll. Scotland February 22, 2018

Well what can I say, we have a very excitable 4 year old boxer, which I spoilt as a puppy.
We needed help with controlling his excitement not only in the house but on the lead.
Within minutes of Lenny being let loose on Graham, he had Lenny sat between his feet very calm, I would never have believed it if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes, absolutely amazing.
Waking him was like having a real life tigger on the end of a lead with no control, so it was no pleasure walking him.
Graham however calmed him and made it look very easy of course. Graham showed us the lead/collar he uses and I found myself buying a one as it worked for Lenny.
After the tips/advice Graham gave us, its still a work in progress but its working brilliantly, I have a dog I like walking and have more control over him. Its not me just training my dog , I’m also training myself.
Would like to take this opportunity to say thank you very much Graham you are an absolute super star.

Kim Wiltshire January 18, 2018

Logan is an Alaskan Malamute who is now 15 months. One moment we had a cute little puppy but within 8 months he was 45kg, stubborn, continually trying to dominate all in the household, walking him was the worst nightmare my arms were seriously bruised from him jumping up and biting them. There was no pleasure in being with him and after a very bad experience with a dog trainer who came to our house, stirred Logan up so much that he became aggressive towards me and left telling us that we need to get rid of him and that he had serious issues with me in particular.

At that point as a family we started to discuss rehoming him as both myself and our daughter had started to become frightened of him. However, we did some research into other dog behaviourists/dog trainers, spoke about our concerns with several and after contacting Graham’s team felt reassured that we would get the support we needed to make the right decision for Logan. In August Graeme came to our home and I think the most important thing we learnt is that Logan is just a dog!! and our training began…..Whilst he is not perfect, will always want to be the top dog and still is not easy to walk. I no longer have bruises and feel in control when out together, my daughter is no longer afraid of him and we wouldn’t be without him. Thank you

Karen Aldred Warwickshire January 10, 2018

default image

Our Staff cross Jimmy was highly reactive to other dogs during his walks & we could only make very slow progress with trying to control him. Graeme introduced us to the slip collar & its correct use & quick recognition of trouble trigger signals. Although he still has episodes his walking is much improved & he is much calmer & more controllable around other dogs, so are we!

Andrew Bedford November 28, 2017

We have a moody French Bulldog and to be honest we started to think our dog had serious behavior issues that were out of control, one minute our dog.. Jeff was cute and cuddly and without warning he would turn into a possessed angry dog literally he would have a frenzy! Every time we took him for a walk there would be an episode, in the past we have taken Jeff to dog training class, paid for a one to one dog trainer who said Jeff was stubborn and moody and told me off for not being in control. Nothing worked!

The final straw happened when Jeff knocked over a table when he tried to jump up at a waiter, we left in tears, we tried a muzzle, impossible for a Frenchie and thought we need to speak to a Vet to see if there is a calming tablet .. yes we were desperate, then a friend suggested the Dogfather!

I have watched the TV shows for naughty dogs and thought no way can that happen in one day! Having owned a dog previously we have tried all the techniques but nothing helped with Jeff.

After Graeme’s visit one week later I have a different dog!! He understood Jeff, wow we were lost for words. Jeff gets anxious and moody , we now know how to not feed his anxiety and calm him down, control his moods , he showed us how to look for the signs and techniques to use to manage Jeff’s temperament.

It is not just myself and my husband who are lost for words so are friends and family, I am hearing…
“No way” and “Wow seriously we can not believe that is the same dog”

We can take Jeff out without feeling on edge, a dog recently growled at Jeff and using the techniques we were shown Jeff ignored the dog and looked at me calmly.

Thank you so much Graeme for not just changing our lives but also Jeff’s . You truly are a Dogfather !

Tina, Dave and Jeff x

Tina Jeffery Kent November 23, 2017

default image

 

I have taken a short while to write as I wanted to see if we really had made the right decision in asking Graeme to help us… It’s been an extraordinary time!

Our understanding of Leo and his responses have helped bring some calm, and for me especially, some confidence. Could you let Graeme know I am leading not following!
Leo responds in his bolshy/barking way but how we all respond (for the most part) is quiet, slow and body blocking if needed.
We have a sign on the front door, advising visitors/postmen/delivery folks that we are training, so it will take a little while to answer. It’s been very beneficial, I don’t feel hurried to deal with Leo & Maggie So I calmly escort them away from the door. Leo still barks whilst he’s walking away but he IS walking away.

Yesterday the local farmer was hedge cutting in the field next to our house, and Leo had a little grumble but didn’t launch into manic barking. Amazing! I found some toys & distracted him.
It takes full commitment to implement change, not always easy. Rich’s mum visited & Rich had to stop what he was doing (lighting the wood burner) and concentrate on Leo. So many times before we would allow his over-excitement, hoping to deal with it ‘next time’ there are no more next times, he needs 100% of our attention at the moment. Once we have a little more balance we can support him in being the dog we know he can be.

Many, many thanks to you all for encouragement and support, and yes, Maggie is improving too, although her issues are minor compared to crazy boy Leo!

Kind regards

Lisa G

Lisa and Richard G Chilcompton, Somerset October 26, 2017

1 2 3 5